Time: Who’s Side Is It On?

My work life, right now, is pretty great. I just started a new part-time contract job with the Minnesota Historical Society to produce a daily radio feature called “MN90: Minnesota History in 90 Seconds.” It’ll include fresh, funny, interesting, disturbing, and enlightening tidbits about Minnesota history. Great for those water cooler conversations. In any case, I’m thrilled to take on this new project, and I’m also aware that it’s a huge time commitment–one that won’t allow for the sort of “wiggle room” I currently have in my schedule. Thus, it’s time to take a cold, hard look at my schedule. How well am I spending my time?

Lucky for me, my husband is good at this stuff. This morning, Eric had me hash out all of my current time commitments and ask myself which are flexible, which are not, and how much time each of those things really, truly takes to accomplish. I even took into account travel time, if you can believe it.

I won’t bore you with the details of our little session, but I will say that I find this type of self-management both incredibly challenging, and life-saving. There’s something so freeing about knowing that all my time is accounted for, and that if I just stick to the plan, everything I want to get done, will get done. This type of thing, while hardly romantic, is crucial to the sort of varied life I want to have. I simply have to have time in my life for getting my hands in the dirt, just as I need time for paying bills, cooking dinner, eating dinner, making art, transcribing hours of audio, being with good friends, etc. Who knew though that I’d need a whiteboard in order to do all that?

1 Comment

Filed under Ideas

One response to “Time: Who’s Side Is It On?

  1. Casey

    I so need this : ) Congrats and good luck with the new project! You are, as always, my inspiration.

Leave a Reply

